# Maximum Rate of Benefits for Calendar Year Beginning January 1, 1999

Under § 9-603 of the Labor and Employment Article, provides that the maximum compensation paid shall be determined as of January 1st of each calendar year. This Commission has been advised by the Maryland Department Labor, Licensing and Regulation that the average weekly wage of workers covered by Maryland Unemployment Insurance Law for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1998 is \$602.00.

Applying § 9-604 of the Labor and Employment Article, authorizing the computation of Awards to the next highest dollar where the computation results in an uneven dollar results in the following maximum benefits for death and disability for injuries occurring on and after January 1, 1998.

## 1) TEMPORARY TOTAL DISABILITY - LE § 9-621

Two-thirds of the employee's average weekly wage not to exceed 100% of the State Average Weekly Wage or \$602.00.

## 2) PERMANENT TOTAL DISABILITY LE § 9-637

Two-thirds of the employee's average weekly wage not to exceed 100% of the State Average Weekly Wage or \$602.00.

#### 3) DEATH BENEFITS LE § 9-681

Two-thirds of the employee's average weekly wage not to exceed 100% of the State Average Weekly Wage or \$602.00.

## 4) PERMANENT PARTIAL DISABILITY LE § 9-628

For Awards less than 75 weeks from an event occurring on or after January 1, 1993, compensation to be paid at the rate of thirty-three and one third per centum of the claimant's average weekly wage, not to exceed \$94.20 per week. (The minor disability category does not apply to safety employees).

#### PERMANENT PARTIAL DISABILITY LE § 9-629

For Awards for a period greater than or equal to 75 weeks, but less than 250 weeks, compensation to be paid at two-thirds of the employee's average weekly wage not to exceed one-third of the State Average Weekly Wage or \$201.00\*.

## 5) TEMPORARY PARTIAL DISABILITY LE § 9-615

50% of the difference between the employee's average weekly wage and his wage-earning capacity thereafter but not to exceed 50% of the State Average Weekly Wage or \$301.00\*.

#### 6) <u>SERIOUS DISABILITY BENEFITS LE § 9-630</u>

Two-thirds of the employee's average weekly wage not to exceed seventy-five per cent (75%) of the State Average Weekly Wage or \$452.00\*.

\*This is not one-third of the State Average Weekly Wage. Refer to Page 1, Paragraph 2, as stated the rate of computation shall be computed to the next highest dollar.