Maryland.gov

FAQ & Contact Information

Site Index

Home
Set the size for the menu bar General Information Divider Public Online Services Divider Claims & Adjudication Divider Vocational Rehabilitation Divider Medical & Fee Guide Info Divider WFMS Subscriber Services Divider Workers' Compensation Links
 

Archive:2005

   January   February   March   April   May   June   July   August   September   October   November   December   Back

June 2005 NOTICES

 

Back to NOTICES

The Workers' Compensation Commission and State offices are closed Monday, July 4th in observance of Independence Day.  No telephone or email/web support are available.  We open for business at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, July 5, 2005.
June 30New regulations effective July 4, 2005: Regulation .05 under COMAR 14.09.06 ( Local Office Requirements) and Regulation .23 under COMAR 14.09.01 (Procedural Regulations).
See Regulations: Changes for more detailed information.
June 15

Important Notice to Carriers: Senate Bill 128, which passed during the 2005 legislative session, reduces the number of days before the date of cancellation for nonpayment of a premium for a workers’ insurance policy within which an insurer must send the notice of cancellation. At least 10 days before the date of cancellation, the insurer shall send a notice to the employer of its intention to cancel the policy for nonpayment of premium.  Except for a cancellation for nonpayment of premium, an insurer must continue to provide the notice of the intent to cancel at least 30 days before the date of cancellation or non-renewal. This statute also requires that all such notices be filed with the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission’s designee, the National Council on Compensation Insurance, Inc. (NCCI).  Their web address is http://www.ncci.com. These notices should not be filed with the Commission. These provisions become effective October 1, 2005.

June 10The MD WCC form Authorization for Release of Medical Information (WCC A25 6/10/05) is revised.  Previous versions of the form are obsolete effective June 10, 2005 and cannot be used.  Note also that the form Subpoena/Subpoena Duces Tecum (WCC H08, 5/20/05) was revised May 20, 2005 (as was posted in May 2005 Notices) and must be submitted in duplicate to the Commission for application of the Commission seal & signature prior to service.  The new forms are posted to FORMS & INSTRUCTIONS via the Adjudication/Claims menu.

On April 28, 2005 the Workers' Compensation Commission proposed to amend Regulation .12 (Permanent Disability) under COMAR 14.09.01 (Procedural Regulations). This action was taken at a public meeting, notice of which was given by publication, pursuant to State Government Article 10-506, Annotated Code of Maryland. The proposed regulation is published in the June 10, 2005 issue of the Maryland Register. 
CLICK HERE FOR THE REGULATORY CHANGES PAGE FOR MORE INFORMATION.

The Commission cancels its July 28, 2005 Open Meeting on this proposed amendment.